Are These Cracks We See In NASA Coalition's Structure?

After a seemingly united front on Tuesday when Raila Odinga declared that he will swear himself in on December 12, 2017 the NASA coalition camp has issues.
Justin Muturi, who is the Speaker of the National Assembly confirmed and approved the list of NASA members that will be part of House leadership.

John Mbadi, the Suba South MP is the leader of Minority while Junet Mohammed, MP for Suna East is the Minority Whip. Kathiani MP, Robert Mbui and Kiminini MP, Chris Wamalwa are their deputies, respectively.

Opiyo Wandayi  who is the MP for Ugunja congratulated the four and said that he was confident they would respresent the issues raised by the Opposition.
Nominated MP Cecily Mbarire argued that the coalition had been hypocritical in their selection and failed the two-thirds gender rule.
Coast parliamentarians, led by Suleiman Dori (Msambweni) said the list was not fair and was not representative of the wide variety of regions that had voted for NASA during the elections.
Homabay Women Rep, Gladys Wanga defended the nominations, saying that the party would bring women in many other responsibilities.
He said that that the appointments then had fallen short of Standing Order requirements.

Muturi has now asked both Jubilee and NASA to fast track the appointments of other members who will sit in the various House Committees.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.